Prior to Manuel Quesada’s and Nestor Plasencia’s release of the Casa Magna line of cigars, I really was never much of a fan of his Fonseca lines, then I warmed up to his products in the Casa Magna line, due exception to the Oscuro variants, which I unfortunately equate to smoking scorched earth (even with a two cigar trial). I hope this Signature Series Robusto will be able to reform my opinion on Mr. Quesada’s other Fonseca lines.

I’ll go into this cigar with as much of an open mind as I can muster. After a brief search on the net, there is unfortunately no information regarding the blend or frankly this cigar at all; so I’ll be flying blind on this one.

Before toasting and after guillotining I had to continually taste the wrapper to determine it as a Habano seed Colorado. Upon toasting the foot, I detected cedar, toast, anise, freshly ground coffee beans, and mocha.

Well the first notable flavor of sulfates from the Dominican tobacco, cream and spice of Honduran tobacco, and the cedar and subtle spices of Nicaragua. As for the binder, well that’s just a crap shoot. The ash is solid and has a salt and pepper complexion and the slight appearance of rings.

So far the first half inch has been, well far from complex, but far from nonexistent, just down the middle line; and the smoke coming off the foot was laden with hints of cedar and coffee.

After ashing the first inch, there is a clear indication of some ligero in the filler, determined from the conical head on the recently ashed foot. And it began to partially canoe at four inches, I’ll see if it will level out on its own.

Now I’ve begun to pick up more sulfates, as the dominating flavor, and a rather foul aftertaste of ammonia. At three and a half inches and the cigar does generates the ideal cloud white color of smoke, which indicates a premium well rolled cigar, even in spite of it’s short comings it’s an okay cigar for the price, you can’t beat it for it’s price point if you can find them. I picked up this robusto for 4.99 before tax at Davidus Cigars, Rockville, MD 20852.

At two and a quarter inches the cigar begins to mellow out and the sulfates and ammonia begin to abate, and are replaced by coffee and cream, rather pleasant. The aftertaste too abates, and the smoke smells of French roast coffee, while the cigar becomes earthy, leathery, and cedar.

I can easily say it’s worth a shot, if your local B&M have them, or ask the owner/manager of said B&M to try and order them. I’ve most certainly warmed up to this cigar, Manuel Quesada you’re a mastermind, keep up the work with your Matasa factory and keep on churning out these brilliant blends.

Trying to savor as much of this Fonseca Signature Series robusto as much as I can with my new Don Salvatore Havana Stone Draw Poker with a brown Jasper stone handle.

Until next time folks, keep on savoring those cigars.

